Butterfly (Chou) – Acid Black Cherry (Translation/Lyrics)

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xns36a_%E8%9D%B6_music

This is a kind of romantic song…. it’s got a lot of layers to it at least and the melody is enchanting

Sorry the embedded PV is a dailymotion video this time 😦 The one on Youtube is the short version and I’m sure you want to hear the whole song! ^^ I’ve embedded the short PV at the bottom of the post, anyway.

I’ll be honest, I was a little more liberal with this translation than I normally am because the lyrics here have some idioms and expressions that are difficult to express succinctly without adding words to fill the expression in English.

English

As you softly closed your eyes, our lips draw closer together.
Close enough to touch “I want to eat you”
Won’t you let me hear your beautiful voice more?
The stinger plucks the thread “Ask me where you would like me to sting”

I’m a butterfly who’s been caught in a trap of love.
The musky scent is as strong as it is unpleasant.
The binding kindness is like a spider’s thread.
It’s not “love” but for some reason
I wanted to try embrace you at least once.

I’m a butterfly who’s been caught n a trap of love.
For my birthday, roses are a little unfair.
A butterfly won’t stop at just any flower.
It’s not “love” but for some reason,
I wanted to try and believe even your lies.

The life of a mayfly. Ephemerial love. I don’t have anything left to lose any more.
While knowing that it’s no good, I steal a loving cat’s cradle with the thread**.
“You’re smiling at this innocently again, don’t make me happy for nothing”
Without saying those words, tonight again
I’m embraced by you. And tomorrow, and the day after, I want to be held by you.

I’m a butterfly who’s been caught in a trap of love.
I pretend not to look at the husks of the other girls.
Even if we can’t meet, or we just play, that’s all right.
It’s not “love” but for some reason,
If you discarded me, it would be hard (to accept).

I’m a butterfly caught in a trap of love.
Not matter how I try, I cannot move,
I trifle with the idea of raising my voice.
It’s not “love”, it’s not “love” but
I loved you.

If it’s pain, I wouldn’t hate that but “pain” and “adversity” are different.
While knowing that it’s no good, I tightrope walk the thread.
If I fall here, or ferry myself safely, both taken into consideration waiting is the real hell, isn’t it.
It’s all right like this, being alone is better…
I follow after you, falling at any time, I follow your scent.

Two traps have been set, “The Scent of Musk” and “The Spider’s Thread”.
Alone again… alone again… Without knowing anything, I draw the thread towards myself.

**Ok, this is a pun that I simply can’t think of a good way to translate. Ayatori (綾取り) is cat’s cradle (you know the game with the string? You put it through your fingers and… Google it if not) but here, it’s written 愛夜盗り which isn’t, strictly speaking, a word. To break it down
愛 (ai) = Love
夜盗 (yatou)= A night burglar
The り (ri) is just to pull the pun together.
So aiyatouri = ayatori = Cat’s cradle/stealing love in the night/I can’t translate this very well…. But I hope you understand it with this note.

Romaji

Me wo tojita mama sotto kuchibiru chikazuite
Furesou na kyori no mama “Kimi wo tabete shimaitai”
Kirei na koe wo motto kikasete kurenai ka?
Dokubari wa ito wo hiki “Doko ni sashite hoshii ka itte”

Ai no wana ni kakatta watashi wa chou
Musuku no kaori ga tsuyokute iya na kanji
Karamitsuku yasashisa ga kumo no ito mitai
Ai ja nai kedo, naze ka anata ni
Ichido dakarete mitakatta

Ai no wana ni kakatta watashi wa chou
Kyou wa tanjyoubi chotto bara nante zurui wa
Donna chou datte hana ni wa tomaru ja nai
Ai ja nai kedo naze ka anata wo
Uso demo shinjite mitakatta

Inochi kagerou utakata no koi ima sara uchinau mono nado nai
ikenai tte wakatteinagara ito wo ayatori
“Mata mujaki ni waraikakete, watashi wo muda ni yorokobasenaide….”
nante ienai mama mada konya mo
anata ni dakarete ashita mo asatte mo anata ni dakareteitai

Ai no wana ni kakatta watashi wa chou
Hoka no onna no ko no nukegara minai furi
Aenakutatte asobi datte yokatta
Ai ja nai kedo naze ka anata ni
Watashi tsuterare tsurakatta

Ai no wana ni kakatta watashi wa chou
Donna ni mo ga itatte ugokenai mama de
Koe ga dechau kurai mote-asobarete
Ai ja nai kedo, ai ja nai kedo
Watashi, anata ga suki datta.

Itami dattara kirai ja nai. Demo “Itai” to “Tsurai” to wa chigau no.
Ikenai tte wakatteinagara ito wo tsuna-watari
Koko de ochitatte watarikitta tte, dochira ni seyo matsu no wa jigoku deshou
Kore de ii no. Hitori yori wa mashi….
Anata oikakete. Doko made mo ochite iku. Anata no kaori wo otte…

Shikeketa wana wa futatsu “Jakou” to “Kumo no ito”
Mata hitori… Mata hitori… Nani mo shirazu ni teguri yose…

Japanese

目を閉じたままそっと 唇近づけて
触れそうな距離のまま 「君を食べてしまいたい」
キレイな声をもっと 聞かせてくれないか?
毒針は糸を引き 「どこに刺して欲しいか言って」

愛の罠にかかった私は蝶
ムスクの香りが強くてイヤな感じ
絡みつく優しさが蜘蛛の糸みたい
愛じゃないけど なぜかあなたに
一度抱かれてみたかった

愛の罠にかかった私は蝶
今日は誕生日 ちょっとバラなんてズルいわ
どんな蝶だって花にはとまるじゃない
愛じゃないけど なぜかあなたを
嘘でも信じてみたかった

命かげろう うたかたの恋 今さら失うモノなどない
いけないって わかっていながら 糸を愛夜盗(あやと)り
「また無邪気に笑いかけて 私を無駄に喜ばせないで…」
なんて言えないまま また今夜も
あなたに抱かれた 明日もまた明後日も あなたに抱かれていたい

愛の罠にかかった私は蝶
他の女の子の抜け殻 見ないフリ
会えなくたって 遊びだって よかった
愛じゃないけど なぜかあなたに
私 捨てられ辛かった

愛の罠にかかった私は蝶
どんなにもがいたって動けないままで
声が出ちゃうくらい玩ばれて
愛じゃないけど 愛じゃないけど
私 あなたが好きだった

痛みだったら嫌いじゃない でも「痛い」と「辛い」とは違うの
いけないって わかっていながら 糸を綱渡り
ここで落ちたって 渡りきったって どちらにせよ待つのは地獄でしょう
これでいいの 一人よりはマシ…
あなた追掛けて どこまでも堕ちていく あなたの香りを追って…

仕掛けた罠は二つ “麝香”と“蜘蛛の糸”
また一人…また一人…何も知らずに手繰り寄せ…

Short PV

Japanese Lesson time!

So, unlike English, there are distinct concepts of male and female gendered speech in Japanese. I don’t mean this in the Romantic language sense of masculine and feminine nouns but rather in the patterns of speech themselves. Now, you probably already know that there are several ways to address yourself in Japanese. The three most common ones are watashi (私), boku (僕) and ore (俺). Boku  and ore have particular masculine images associated with them while watashi is considered female in casual speech. Some girls with kind of “tom-boy-ish” images use boku (or, even rarer, ore) though in formal speech we should note that in a normal situation, everyone calls themselves watashi.

Now, on to the point here, in this song, yasu calls himself watashi but considering this is a song, we’re not being formal here so that is clue one to this being a song from a female perspective.

Clues two and three are grammar related which sounds boring but is actually really interesting (to nerds like me, at least 😉 ) So, first we have ちょっとバラなんてズルいわ (Chotto bara nante zurui wa/Roses are a little unfair). It’s the last bit we care about, the zurui wa. This use of adj~wa is considered a feminine way of emphasising an adjective in Standard Japanese. That’s not to say men don’t use it from time to time, too, but it’s got a feminine nuance to it.

Second, and stronger これでいいの (Kore de ii no/ It’s all right like this). No is our friend! Basically, it can have many varied meanings in all parts of a sentence but in this particular case at the end of the clause, after an adjective in this case has the same meaning as “~んだ” (~n da. Essentially a positive, continuous ending). ~の and ~んだ are essentially equivalents to one another like this. The former with a feminine nuance, the latter with a masculine one.

Now, think about all of this and watch the PV. Aside from being amazing (*fujoshi-swoon*), we are pointed more towards yasu being a man. Specifically an effeminate gay man. Now, you’re well educated so you don’t need me to tell you that gay men don’t all speak like women however, in both English and in Japanese, gay men using feminine speech patterns is iconic to the point of stereotype, isn’t it? I love this song even more with this in mind~ *more fujoshi swooning*

Leave a comment